top of page

Week 50: Creative ME 2 (Member Photos)

Kortney Fox - My husband always calls me his Snow Queen because, even though I hate being cold, I LOVE the snow. Friends and family are constantly harassing me about bringing out my snow wand. If it is going to be cold outside there might as well be something pretty to look at! I thought it would be fun for this week's creative theme to dress as the Snow Queen I am known to be and try some fun "snow inspired" make up. I'm pretty pleased with how it turned out!

Emily Ingalls - I love snow globes. The magic and wonder of them in a small contained environment that you can shake and make magical with snow. This week got me thinking of snow globes. I grew up in cold weather that required trudging through the snow to get firewood. In Texas, we rarely have cold weather and snow. However, yesterday we went from 78 degrees to 26 degrees in a matter of 5 hours thanks to that artic blast. I embraced the craziness of the weather (which is cold!). Personally, I'd never want to be trapped in a snow globe, but I thought 'Hey, what if?!' hence this week's image. www.emilyingallsphotography.com

Jen Ostler - Creative me! This took me two minutes with an iPod and the Prisma app and last minute procrastinator's itch. I haven't missed a week all year and I'm not going to start now.

Felicia Bohm - I have been a 'silent' member here for a while now, loving every photo and all the heartwarming, funny or thought provoking messages that came with them! Every week I thought 'this will be it' when I can join you and post something then I got distracted, life happened and it became an other picture, planned and created only in my mind. The one I share now is not new either (not completely my own idea, but felt inspired to try myself at PS), but feels right to put it out here as with the end of an other year approaching, we all tend to dive into reflecting on ourselves, our past, who we become as the days in the calendar got pulled out one by one. This is me. Silently observing. All the time...

Elena Pendell - Christmas lights are an endless source of creativity. I feel like this photo doesn't need a wordy description, just a title. I call it "Christmas Love".

Sean Holler - Well lets say I am whimsical and mystical! I am the female version of Peter Pan! I have always been drawn to that story, and feel in my heart that I can truly fly as well as never grow up! I feel I was unfairly forced to grown up at a much too early age, and it was a world I felt I did not know nor fit into. It hasn't changed much except now I realize I make my own rules and reality as apposed to being subject to a unjust world. I see the injustices still daily, and my heart aches for true love amongst all living things. But I know I can be apart of change and use my love in my heart that will never grow up and still see the world through the eyes of a loving and innocent child. I feel alive in this picture, I when I grown up I want to touch peoples hearts and make them feel deeply, anything, just feel...

Manjula Manjeti - Photoshop has been my nemesis. So this was a perfect opportunity to try something different. I wish i had more time to try some thing else, but with the entire household under the weather, this was the best i could come up with and i am pretty happy with the result. I call this "Camouflage". www.urbanhuesphotography.com

Julie Layman - Funny how I thought it would be so simple to get a shot... wrong angle, double chin, eyes cut to far over, hair was wrong, smoke in my eye! Lol about 15 takes later and loads of fun playing with the edit I got what I was looking for. Super fun to just play around!

Tina Huba - I had grand plans on what I wanted to do this week but then parties, plays and rain came. My house is small so I brought it inside to try. I kinda like the results but still want to try this outside so if I get a nice day this week I'm gonna try again. I need to figure out how to get my tripod high enough with my heavy camera so it doesn't tumble. I used my 28mm since I couldn't get it as high as I'd like. It was a good first try. So this is creative me: swirly and dark. I also want to say kudos to all you ladies! I see some amazing work in here every week and IMO self portraits are the hardest to bring to life what I see in my head!

Briar Marie - My first week was creative me week and I almost didn't stay because holy moly are you ladies talented!!! I was surprised this week when I thought of something I've always wanted to try right away. Like last time, I'm not really showcasing something super creative about myself because honestly I don't think of myself as all that creative. I'm too measured. I follow rules too closely. I like to find and define the box. Sometimes I get out, but usually I find it comforting. But I'm always willing to try something new and that has a creative vibe to it. That's our Christmas tree behind me. This was trickier than I expected. The effect was simpler than I expected actually, but getting myself into this image was tough because the lights had to be far enough away from the camera to get the bokeh effect, but if I was IN the lights, then I was so out of focus as to be unrecognizable as a human. If I was close to the camera, then I was in darkness. So I just owned that and went for a silhouette. Thanks for the fun!

bottom of page