top of page

Week 1: A New ME (Member Photos)

When I had the idea to start this project, I was nervous. I wondered if I would find anyone willing to attempt one self portrait a week for a year. If I was intimidated at the idea of doing it myself, how was I going to talk anyone else into doing it?

I just couldn't get past this feeling that it was necessary. I saw and heard so many women putting themselves down. I kept seeing images of "perfect" retouched women in ads. I kept seeing a woman's worth trivialized to how quickly she could get back to her pre-baby weight. It was all making me angry and also sad. I wanted to do something, anything, to show real women their true beauty. I envisioned a group of supportive photographers of all ages and walks of life coming together to support, encourage, and inspire each other. So, the fact that this group has women in their 20's to their 70's, from all over the U.S., plus Australia, Russia, and Canada makes me incredibly happy.

More than that, the honesty and vulnerability, along with the love and support of the members displayed in this week alone made me proud. Proud to be in this group, and proud to be a woman.

So, before I share some of their inspirational stories and images, I just want to say to all The ME Project members, thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Love,

Jen

Adriana Meixner - "This self portrait is really meant to be a sort of wake up call to myself. When the new year started, it really hit me that I had been running myself pretty hard in both my personal and professional life for the past 5 years. For the first time in my life, I no longer felt as young on the outside as I did on the inside...and truthfully it took me a couple of days to really wrap my head around that revelation. And I did, and now I'm over it. And this picture is really about the New ME saying goodbye to the other ME and not feeling bad that yes I have wrinkles around my eyes now, and I have dark circles from sleepless nights with my babies, and I have sun spots from years of sun damage and I'm not sleeping as much as I should or eating as healthy as I should and yes work does stress me out but guess what? I'm doing the best I can and I'm making sure I take care of 'ME' this coming year so I can be all of those things (wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, etc.) to all of those people who mean so much to me. This year is about 'ME' so I can be my best to those around me!"

Jen Ostler - "When I tell people I used to ride my bike 25 miles a day, or compete in 10k races, or that I still exercise every day and am an outdoors lover, I can see the obvious doubt in their eyes. My obesity, the me that was created by a sedentary job and then a challenging pregnancy, defines who I am to other people. They don't know that I was half this size just three years ago; that I was an entirely different person. For the last two years I've struggled with massive depression. I've finally decided to begin taking antidepressants, and I'm hoping that this year I can get my giveadamn back and get back to the girl I intend to be."

Kortney Fox - "A full time job, working tirelessly on launching my photography business, and chasing after three little ones does not leave a lot of time for myself. If I do something for myself I end up feeling guilty because my littles will not be little for very long. I want to spend all the time I can with them and my husband. BUT if I don't take the time out to do something for ME, that makes ME happy, then what kind of fun am I going to be?!? So for 2016, the new me will start making time to do more activities for myself, which in turn will make me a more enjoyable me."

Emma Jeskowillich - "This is the year, the year I tackle all these projects I've wanted to do and said I didn't have the time for. I will stay up late, I will work lightening fast when the little one is asleep, and I will believe that this is the year people know my name." -Winter Bath

Dria Iris - "So I absolutely do not photograph myself with my camera, I'm so accustomed to the fancy front facing camera on my phone. I really wanted to do this project after a friend directed me to this group but I'm having major mixed feelings about photographing myself. I think this photograph captures that haha. Here's one of (hopefully) 52."

Cai Vail - "Here goes nothing...2015 was a year of such massive and elemental change for me; a year of good health after several years of drinking, eating poorly, and chronic illness, leaving my job to work at home as a freelancer, giving birth to my first child, coming to terms with my new physical and emotional identity as a mother. This year will undoubtably hold many big transitions as well, and my goal is to meet them headfirst and own it, with calm and grace as best I can. I hope my frizzy-haired, baby food on my clothes, self portrait in the bathroom conveys a bit of that calm and grace I'd like to bring out from within myself."

Tara Eveland - "I wanted to share the latest image in my ongoing series that shares my world of living with Bipolar type II disorder. I have struggled most of my life with PTSD, bipolar disorder and anxiety as a result of some childhood abuse. I feel each time I put one of these images out to the 'world' a piece of me heals. It sounds corny but it truly does. Its like showing you all, and anyone else that views it an inner piece of myself that yes is scary to show..but at the same time a sort of 'release' to put it out there. So, I hope you enjoy "Hanging On" from my Bipolar II Series."

Angie Kerins - "My "new me" will be focused and driven and I wanted to somehow portray that behind the camera. So this is me, coming out of the fog, putting myself out there, not hiding in the shadows any longer. My insecurities have held me back in so, so, so many ways and I need to let go. My kids deserve better, I deserve better."

Samantha Hayn - "This year I'm going to put my heart + soul on the line to better express myself through my art. It's such a personal battle for me to be expressive with my client's images, versus what I do with my own personal images. This year I'm going to embrace my vision more with my client's, and get out of the "same thing different day" routine. I cannot wait to see what this new perspective can do."

Kashia McElwee - "A more involved Mommy. This past year I spent ALOT of time in front my computer devoted to my clients photos and while that's not a terrible thing, I feel like I missed so much with my babies ( one not pictured here). They are both growing so fast and this year I don't want to miss a thing."

Mary Taylor - "In thought of what my goals and new projects will be for the New Year.......getting in front of the camera was one of them!"

Aubrey Dettmer - "We are scheduled for a c-section in less than 5 weeks with our second daughter. Started washing baby clothes and got a taste for what a mom doing laundry for 4 is like! wink emoticon I don't know how my mom did it with 8 kids! lol. Oh, and that blur behind me? That's my 2 year old running around the table in circles. Ha ha!"

bottom of page