top of page

Week 4: My Crazy Beautiful Life

When we moved into our house 7-8 years ago, the previous owners left their kitchen table behind. I really wasn't crazy about that table. The top is marble and has some places on the side where it's chipped. The chairs are super heavy and the legs have this curly thing that my pants keep getting caught on. We didn't have the money then to buy a new table, so we just lived with it. For some crazy reason it is still in our kitchen, all these years later. The thing is, I can't think of a better place to capture my crazy beautiful life in a photo. You see, the kitchen table is not just a place where we've had our breakfasts, lunches, dinners, and endless snacks over the years.

The kitchen table is where I used to love watching my son stick his tongue out while he concentrated on completing an art project.

It is where we made cookies and spilled more sprinkles than seemed to get on the cookies.

It is where he has done his homework for the past 4 years.

It is where the three of us discuss our plans for the day and start the day off with laughter.

It is where I have filled out countless papers for school, camps, etc.

It is where we argue, tease each other, tell stories, give hello hugs and goodbye kisses, discuss our challenges, and share life lessons.

Some of the most important conversations we've had with my son have been at that table. It is where we discussed how to handle a bully, what kind of friends we hope he chooses, what puberty is (eeek!), and the importance of kindness. It is where he learned, just this year, the truth about Santa, and the Easter Bunny, and the Tooth Fairy.

There has been sadness and joy shared in thousands of little moments at that table, and THAT is Crazy Beautiful.

bottom of page