top of page

Week 8: Creative ME

Once upon a time, I was an art major in college. My roommate was going for a degree in Accounting. I amused her. I would meet her and the other friends in our group for dinner, after an art class, and they would just laugh when they saw me. I would always have paint smeared on my pants, or charcoal smudges on my face, or clay in my hair. Someone would ask me a question and my roommate would say "Don't bother trying to talk to her for at least 10 minutes, because she's still in art mode". She was right. When I'm being creative, I tend to get wrapped up in it. Everything else falls away and that is all I focus on. I completely lose track of time. I miss those art student days sometimes!

Needless to say, I really enjoyed this week's theme. I saw an image in National Geographic in which a female photographer did a very ethereal light painting of her face, and knew I wanted to try something like that. I googled "light painting brushes", and discovered that those were way too expensive for just taking one shot, so I had to ... get creative. I made these using a children's multi colored fiber optic wand. I put on a black sweatshirt and crammed myself and the tripod into our little, windowless downstairs bathroom, while my guys were at a Cub Scouts meeting. These are my three favorites.

"REM Sleep"

"Trapped in a Dream"

"Right Brain/ Left Brain"

bottom of page