top of page

Week 8: Creative ME (Member Photos)

"Creativity is inventing, experimenting, growing, taking risks, breaking rules, making mistakes, and having fun". Mary Lou Cook

I was so impressed with this week's submissions. Everyone was so willing to do the things in that quote, to experiment and take risks without the fear of making a mistake. It is sometimes not easy to share our creative selves, so I really appreciate everyone being so vulnerable. We had so much fun being creative that we are planning to revisit this theme sometime later in the project. Of course, we don't have to wait until then to be creative. After all...

"You can't use up creativity. The more you use, the more you have". Maya Angelou

As always, if anyone would like to join in The ME Project, we would love to have you! Just go to the private FB page and request to join.As always, if you would like to join The ME Project, jump in at any time, by heading over to our private Facebook page and asking to join. The more women I can get in front of the frame this year, the happier I will be! Feel free to share this post, (and any others) with the creative people in your life, so they can be inspired by these amazingly talented women.

Kortney Fox - Ok so I tried to get out of my comfort zone here. Can't say it was wildly successful, but hey I am proud of myself that I tried something new and learned a lot more about all of the things that can be done in Photoshop. Maybe many moons from now I will have the time to branch out more into the Photoshop world... I constantly feel like my brain is never resting and one day it is just going to explode!

Eboni Rivera - "Passion is what makes you beautiful, darling.That fire in your eyes, knowing through all your cells that you just cannot give up. And when you know yourself and believe in yourself so much that you say “no” when you mean it without any apology in your voice. Yes, darling, no star shines brighter than you in that moment. You are a rebel at heart. You are burning strong. Remember that, always." — S. C. Lourie This quote are all the words that surround me in this self portrait image. I'm such an inspirational quote junkie so I thought my creative me image should comprise of this passion in one way or another.

Jennifer Podesta - I was outside today, doing some macro in the rain. I really wanted to catch my reflection in a drop falling off a leaf or flower, but the light just wasn't cooperating. So, I walked by the car... It was fun to play with, even if it didn't turn out exactly as I would've liked. Looking forward to giving this another go down the road!

Sara Lowing-Wright - Photography is what defines me, creatively. It is really the only way I exude creativity. I think about photography all.the.time. I got my 1st dslr around 4 years ago and had a on/off relationship with it for the couple of years after(had babies). I would say the last year I am fully immersed. I always want to learn new things and get better. I love looking at others' work. When I'm out and about I see life through a lens. Sometimes I worry that it makes me less present with my kids as I have my camera out a lot when we are on vacations, etc. This is my 1st attempt at a double exposure. It isn't perfect but not too bad. I didn't even know anything in photoshop 3 months ago and today I did a double exposure. I guess I should feel proud.

Emily Ingalls - Because who doesn't love a good hair flip! A composite of three photos into one. This is only the second composite I've done. I learn something new each time, and learning is a never ending journey for me. Challenging myself to go outside of my comfort zone always results in learning a new skill.

Cai Vail - I have a tendency towards perfectionism in my work and putting pressure on myself to live up to standards that aren’t always realistic. Often, this nit-picking perfectionism costs me my authentic creative voice and keeps me from taking risks. After all, risks inherently assume some measure of failure, right? It’s taken me nearly 30 years to come to terms with the fact that “done is better than perfect”. Sometimes it’s okay to let something go, get messy, take risks and show your inner eccentricity. I had a lot of fun channeling my inner 80’s child and getting weird with some more with mixed media photography this week.

Kristina Forbes - Playing with light and shadows.

Trish McCoy - Light play with sparklers. Of course it's not the 4th of July, and it doesn't have to be. It was fun getting creative and playing with sparklers.

Tausha Coates

Jenny Parker - My husband and I are at our favorite little b&b in the smokie mountains without our toddler. Such a time to regroup and take in the beauty around us. This is the view from our bed, and I just had to shoot baby #2 while we were here. Every time we are here, I think about how small we are in this big beautiful world.

Adriana Meixner - "Don't be afraid to take an unfamiliar path, sometimes they're the ones that take you to the best places."

Manjula Prabhu- I love food. I love to eat various cuisines. But, cooking has never come easy to me. Motherhood made me a slightly better cook to provide the basic necessities for my family. I am not gifted with creative culinary skills like some of the fabulous moms I know. I cook anything that is quick and gets done in a jiffy. Once in a blue moon, I get an urge to make something special. Today was one such day and I decided to document it.

bottom of page