top of page

Week 22: My Bird's Eye View (Member Photos)

Jennifer L. Bruce - Slowing things down a bit here. I got out my grandmother's old-fashioned coffee grinder to make myself a cup of coffee. It's the little things. Don't forget to stop and smell the coffee!

Briar Marie - Briar Marie Photography -I have actually been planning to take this picture for a while. My first two boys are very close in age, so I stopped carrying them pretty young. Because I was pregnant or had a newborn and it was just too hard. But this little guy is my "baby" and I still carry him everywhere. He'll be 3 in two months. And he's HEAVY. Usually he still prefers to roam alone, but first thing in the morning he always insists that I carry him downstairs for breakfast. He rubs my back or pets my hair or just snuggles his face in deep and holds on tight. That feeling is one of the defining memories of motherhood with all three of my boys so I'm holding on to the last one as long as he lets me.

Sofia Di Trapani - My Bird's eye view: It might be weird but I love my empty house. I try to buy as little furniture as possible; It used to be a budget thing, now I just love the feeling of open space. As much as I love to live inside an empty house, I dread the day my home becomes an empty nest. www.ditrapani.info/photography

Diana Sherblom - Bird's eye view...from the lookout tower at a nearby wetlands park. This is one of the places I like to go to get a little nature in the middle of the suburbs. I spent my childhood in rural NH, immersed in nature, playing in woods and streams, and backpacking and hiking with my family there and in the Adirondacks. I need wild spaces. I like that in this image, I look like I feel when I'm out in nature, a part of the whole.

Kortney Fox - I accidentally flew the toy helicopter a little too high and the wind blew it onto the roof...so I actually got to see what my porch and spectating children (and dog) look like to a bird. Honestly, it was so cool up there seeing all of my surroundings from the rooftop point of view that I didn't want to get down. I could have stayed up there all day just daydreaming, but the children quickly snapped me back to reality!

Lynette Davis - This was hard. I have a million excuses. Big thank you to the hubs who went with me to the top of a parking deck with me on date night. Song in my head, Bird Set Free by Sia. "I don't care if I sing off key. I find myself in my melodies. I sing for love, I sing for me. I shout it out like a bird set free." Words to live by.

Loren Haar - I took this literally.... what if that bird up there were looking at me right now. Of course I didn't get a chance to set up my tripod (on top of the kids' table) until after they went to bed so the look changed because the house was now lit up, but oh well. This is what I look like to the birds in my tree... in the evening!

Tausha Coates - I spent the last 3 days focusing on yard work, and I must say, I'm proud of myself! It feels good to get out, unplug, and play in the dirt.

bottom of page