top of page

Week 33: ME & Pattern

I like to think of myself as a bit of a free spirit, flying unencumbered like the birds in this pattern, and in my dreams I guess I am. When I'm awake, there are rules, structure, routines, patterns. When I go to the grocery store (always the same one), I start at one end of the store and work my way methodically from each aisle to the next. Always the same. My husband, son, and I sit in the same seats at the kitchen table and table on our deck every single time we eat. Why do we do this?! Why do we follow so many of the same patterns throughout our days when we don't have to? It makes me a bit twitchy at times.

I think that is part of the reason that I love summer so much. We get to switch up our routines. We get to sleep in if we want to. We get to wear our pajamas, sometimes until late afternoon, and eat our meals whenever we feel like it. We get to throw our normal patterns aside and live in the moment. With school starting soon, I'm really going to miss that aspect of summer.

bottom of page