top of page

Week 37: ME & My Obsessions

Hello. My name is Jen, and I am obsessed with Blistex. It might be a problem. It all started back in my first year of college. My friend, Sharon, was obsessed with Blistex. I always saw her carrying one around, and putting it on her lips. At the time, my lips were fine. I didn't need it. Fast forward a few years to my second year of grad school. Suddenly at the age of 25, I was struggling so much with acne that I decided to try medication for it. That turned out to be a horrible decision, because not only did it not really solve the acne problem, but it created a new problem... super dry lips. When I went to the store to buy a moisturizer for my lips and looked at all the choices, my mind flashed back to Sharon with all that Blistex ,so that is what I bought. I've been hooked ever since.

I've tried other brands, but turns out I am quite the loyal customer. At any given time, I have one in my purse, my car, on my nightstand, in my pocket, and several extras in a drawer. If I can't find one, I get a bit panicked, searching with the same frantic worry as if my cell phone is missing.

Recently, I was talking to Sharon through Facebook (she lives in another state, and I haven't seen her since our college days), and I told her that she is the one responsible for my Blistex obsession. Seconds later, there was a photo she sent... of a tube of Blistex! I wrote back, "Is that sitting right next to you?!", and she answered "Yes, I am holding it!" So apparently we both have a problem. But we also have extremely moist, luscious lips!

bottom of page