top of page

Week 39: ME & The Tutu Project

If you don't know about The Tutu Project yet... go HERE first.

This was a difficult week to get a photo! My son was home from school, and it rained the majority of the week. The forecast in Pittsburgh was calling for rain again today, so I quickly got all my supplies ready and my husband and I left to drive into the city. (My parents were watching my son for the day, which turned out great, although he would probably have enjoyed me traipsing around the city in my tutu).

When we parked in the parking garage, I commented that I wanted to get a shot of me against the wall there, with the gritty alley and buildings in the background, but I said we could do it later. (Remember that).

As we walked down to the first photo destination, Point State Park (or "The Point", as us Pittsburghers like to call it), I noticed the ridiculous amount of people that were in the city even though the clouds were threatening to open up and let loose a downpour at any minute. Sure enough, there were tons of people at the fountain, so yay! Plenty of people to watch me making a fool of myself. I wore a black t-shirt, black leather leggings, and black shoes with my pink tutu, to symbolize the fact that I am NOT a girly girl. I never took dance. I certainly was never a ballerina, and I am probably the most ungraceful person on the planet! Me trying to do a graceful ballerina jump was hysterical, but that was the point. I wanted to do this in the same spirit of what Bob did, to make someone laugh... myself, my husband, all the people watching me today, you, whatever. I discovered that not only am I NOT graceful, but I am also NOT young anymore. Running to the spot and jumping repeatedly in HOT leather leggings in 65 degree weather? I'm probably going to be sore tomorrow. Sigh. At least I didn't break my hip.

After somehow managing to get a few shots without people in them, we headed to the subway and took some shots there. I was kind of surprised that no one asked me what I was doing, but then again, this is Pittsburgh and most people probably share my husband's motto "Don't get involved".

When we finished, we headed back to the parking garage, and as I walked over to the wall, we both suddenly jumped when there was a big explosion! We looked out and saw smoke coming out of a dumpster in the alley! We quickly decided to forget out getting anymore shots and just got the heck out of there. We'll be watching the news tonight to see what that was all about. There will probably be a reporter asking people, "Did you see anything suspicious or out of the ordinary today?"... "Well, I did see this strange girl in leather leggings and a tutu?!?!"

bottom of page