top of page

Week 43: How My Kids See ME

Shelby Hobbs - How my kids see me

The centre of their universe. The one they can turn to.

Daddy's love. The vessel. The comfort. The joy.

Same things they are to their mama.

Loren Haar - Here's a face they see a lot, my exaggerated excited/"wow" face. Look mommy, I colored the pumpkin orange. WOW! You did that?! Right up close in their face; they like that! It's that undivided attention thing. Did I mention they are 20 months apart?

Manjula Prabhu - How my Son sees me /When my son was little (about 4 years) this is how the conversation went one evening....My son: Mama... I am going to marry you when i grow up My husband: (Jokingly) But she is already married to me. You might have to go to jail if you marry her.My son: Can i go to the jail with mama after i marry her?My husband and I burst out laughing. My son has always looked at me with love and admiration. He considers me his friend and someone he can depend on when he is down. When he gets a bad dream, he comes to our bed and he hugs me and sleeps with his head on my chest, snuggled up and almost sobbing, "I got a bad dream, mama". He sees me as someone who can protect him and console him. Above all, he loves me through all my shortcomings. I hope that i am the guiding hand that always loves and protects him and someone he can always turn to. www.urbanhuesphotography.com

Trish Reschly - I hope they will always see me as a friend. One who is ready to share in their joys, pains and discoveries. And...in a more literal sense...five kiddos and five vantage points. 13years- to whom I now look up! 10 years, 7 years, 5 years, and 11 months. (This is the 11 mo vantage point).

Adriana Meixner - I hope my kids see (and feel) that I love them unconditionally even when they are being naughty, that they come first before anything else, that their health and happiness is what I pray for daily, and that they bring me so much joy and make me smile from ear to ear. My kids are my everything and I hope they see and feel that EVERY SINGLE DAY. Note this photo was taken moments after I arrived back home from a week long work conference in Florida. I hadn't seen my babies for several days and just couldn't wait to get home to them and hug and squeeze them. They were impatiently waiting for me at the front door when the taxi pulled up to drop me off at home and they both ran and jumped into my arms - best feeling in the world! www.adrianameixner.com

Kortney Fox - My littles are still quite little. I can't really ask them what they think of me. All I can do is pray that they see me in the way that I hope, as their protector, their rock, their person they can come to no matter what. I hope they understand that I am doing everything to give them a wonderful life and a childhood to remember. That we always had fun, went on adventures, made messes, and laughed ALL THE TIME.Every day I try to be the best person that I can be, the best mom that I can be, and set the best examples for my littles. I hope they understand and know that I try my hardest every single day, that they know I raised them to the best of my ability, and that there is no way I can ever ever explain to them how much love I have for them. I hope that they are proud to say I am their mom.

Elena Pendell - My kids see me as Super Mom. Able to stop an argument with a single withering glare. Whipping up a well balanced meal when the fridge appears empty. Healing all wounds with a kiss and a hug. Able to shower in the blink of an eye. Strong enough to lift them as if they weighed nothing at all. Hearing the tiniest peep even though I appear to be asleep. Super Mom sees all, knows all.

Sh

bottom of page