top of page

First Friday Features: Kianna Reed

I'm going to be totally honest. I had never seen Kianna's self portraits until a member of The ME Project told me about her. When I checked out her work, I was so impressed with how gritty and raw they are. Her images are just her, with very simple, uncluttered backgrounds, which allows her beauty to shine through. Kianna reminded me of a very valuable lesson, which is to not judge people based on their looks. I wrongly assumed that since she is beautiful and nude in many of her self portraits that she would be very confident and happy with her looks. She doesn't smile in any of her self portraits so I was a bit nervous to approach her, thinking she might be very serious, or stand offish. Boy, was I wrong! She is super sweet, genuine, and just as self conscious as the rest of us! She doesn't smile in her photos because she doesn't like the wrinkles it makes around her eyes, and check out her answer to number four in this interview! Unbelievable! Her work is gorgeous and so is she.

You can see her amazing work on her Facebook page, Kianna's Lens Affair, or on Instagram @kiannas_lens_affair

You: The Person

1. How would your family and friends describe you?

I think my friends might would say that I am bubbly, interesting, happy, strange, and creative.

My family on the other hand might say I am emotional, crabby at times, dreamer, and lack of self-awareness.

2. Are you married or single? Do you have any children?

Yes. I am married. I have one girl who is going on four years old. I am hoping to add another one next year.

3. What makes you laugh? What makes you cry?

I laugh a lot and I don’t cry as much! I have an aversion to crying. A lot of things changed after I had my daughter. Being with my daughter and having fun with her makes me laugh. But, she also makes me cry. But not the sad cry, more like just tons of emotions go through me whenever I think about her, and I get tears in my eyes. Also, a sad movie would make me cry. Due to my aversion, I try my best not to watch that kinda movie.

4. What is your best physical feature? What is one that you would like to change?

Gosh, I am not sure I know what is my best physical feature…. Maybe my back?! One thing I’d like to change about my feature, hmm… that is a tough question, because I can go on and on. Do you have a lot of time? Haha! First of all, I’d like to have a little bit longer legs. My tush can be a little meatier. Haha! I had a dream once...I dreamed I was made of play dough, and I could really mold myself however I want, and I was so excited about that in my dreams, and I still can remember clearly. I think I changed everything, like you still could recognize me, just better version of myself.

5. If you could change one thing about yourself or your life, what would it be?

I would love to be more confident.

It took me a long time before I called myself a photographer. It took me even longer time before I was willing to take pictures of friends. I still get butterflies when I do a photoshoot with friends. I just don’t want to disappoint anyone.

I would love to live some where more exotic, more romantic.

6. Where/How did you meet your closest friends?

I’m having a hard time to meet CLOSE friends in America. I feel like I am having a hard time meeting like-minded people where I live. I am Chinese and my bestest friends are still in China, even though I have been here in America for 12 years. Now that I am a photographer, I’d love to have a photographer best friend. I am on the look out for one.

7. What is the craziest thing you’ve ever done?

I’m not sure I can tell you that here. ;)

8. What is the one thing about yourself that you are really proud of?

I am not a quitter. I am a super slow learner. When I first learned LR, and I was so stressed out that I wanted to quit photography altogether, because I was so frustrated with the software. I am still confused about it now, but I guess, I am starting to realize LR does not make a photographer. I do!

You: The Photographer

9. How did you become interested in photography?

It all started with my daughter. Like so many other women photographers out there. Point shoot just couldn’t keep up with the little ones, they move so fast. But I first started to get serious 2015 July, when I found out about Click Moms, and I have been taking classes there, until recently, I started to take classes at Creative Live also. I am so into taking classes from women photographers. I resonate more with women.

10. If you’re in business, how long have you been in business, and what job did you have before becoming a photographer?

I am not in business right now. But I am thinking about it. I might just do it part time. I am taking a class with Jen Bilodeau called Business from the Ground Up . So hopefully, I will have something going next year.

11. What camera/lenses/camera bag do you use?

I started out with Canon 70D. I still have that now. But I am shooting with Canon 5 D Mark III. I mostly use my 35mm f/1.4 L II USM, and my lensbaby edge 80 and sweet 35. But, recently, I started to learn to shoot video, so I just dug out my 24-70. I also have EF 100mm F/2.8L Macro IS US. I ‘just started to use my Tamron SP 70-200 F/2.8, which I bought for my daughter's classes, (Ballet, sports, whatever) But that lens is so heavy, my wrist ends up hurting after each photo shoot. I’ve been drooling over the pictures created by Velvet 56, so I am planing to get the velvet 56 this month and Lemography Petzvel 85mm.

12. Do you use Lightroom, Photoshop or both?

I use Lightroom and Photoshop.

13. Do you take pictures everyday?

I don’t anymore. I did when I first started. I took pictures of everything around me. Now, I feel like I have to be in the mood for it. Or the picture shows (lack of interest). Say with my self-portrait, I might get an idea about a pose I want to try out, or I might just bought a new dress and an pose will be inspired by that dress, or might be a feeling I want to speak through my photography.

14. What is your biggest struggle as a photographer?

I feel that my biggest struggle as a photographer is that sometimes, I worry about what other photographers think about my work too much! And I feel like that has never gotten me far… “worry about what I think first” is what I tell myself, especially when no-one is paying me !

bottom of page