top of page

Week 46: What Makes ME Happy

This week my son turns 10. 10?!?! How did this happen? Since leaving the single digits is kind of a big deal, we asked him what he wanted to do for his birthday, and when he said he wanted to go back to Great Wolf Lodge instead of having the usual party, I was surprised but pleased. I mean, I'm pretty sure he's not going to choose hanging out with his old mom and dad over his friends much longer, so I better take advantage of it!

Before we go, we got together with my parents to celebrate. Being with my family makes me happy. Trying new things and going new places makes me happy. Something else that really makes me happy is being there when my kid tries something new. He has an adventurous spirit like I do! He had never been to a Japanese restaurant before, and I figured he would get a kick out of watching the cook flipping knives around! So, I did something completely out of my comfort zone... I am a natural light photographer. Taking photos in artificial light is not my strong suit, but not only did I do that, I set up my tripod and took a self portrait in a restaurant! My husband hates the goofy face he is making in the one photo, so just ignore that, okay? He's good looking, but the poor guy is just not that photogenic! If you're wondering why I'm the only one smiling in the photo... well, I'm smiling because I'm not cooking. Not cooking makes me happy too.

bottom of page