top of page

Week 47: Thankful ME

As a parent, it is my job to raise my son to be the best possible version of himself that he can be. Parents need to teach their children to be kind, respectful, caring, thoughtful, hard working... the list goes on and on. It is hard sometimes to not get caught up in all the things we feel like they need to work on, rather than focusing on all the good that is already there.

Since my son just turned ten, and I have yet to write his annual birthday letter, and my to do list is a mile long, I decided to kill two birds with one stone, so here is his birthday letter AND my self portrait.

Dear Dylan,

Now you are 10, and just as I say every year, I'm not sure where the time has gone! I think sometimes that your dad and I might be too hard on you. When you only have one child, it is easy to put too much time and attention on them, and I'm sure at times you wish we would just back off. So, instead of saying "You need to... " or "Don't you think you should...", this letter is all about the things I hope you never change.

I'm thankful that you are loving. You tell me every day, multiple times a day, how much you love me. You tell me you love me even when you are mad at me, even shortly after I punish you for something.

I'm thankful that you are affectionate. You hug me and kiss me all the time, and you still even try to fit your long limbs in my lap for a snuggle.

I'm thankful that you are thoughtful. When we are at the store, you often ask if you can get a treat for your dad. When I am sad, you hug me and say the sweetest things to comfort me. You are always willing to share your things with others.

I'm thankful that you are a good friend. You listen to them. You show excitement about the things that they are excited about. You laugh at their jokes. You make them cards for their birthdays.

I'm thankful that you have a great sense of humor. I love your laugh. You laugh loudly and without embarrassment. I love the inside jokes that you, your dad, and I share, and that you just "get" me.

I'm thankful for your love of life and sense of adventure. You love to try new things and go new places, and you always want to get as much out of an experience as you can (try each part).

I'm thankful for how you think. You are very smart, and yes, I am proud of that, but even more so I am proud of how wise you are. When I had a horrible nightmare and told you and your dad about it, you said "Let's think of a way to think about it, so that it isn't scary". When something doesn't go as planned you say "Well, it's not that bad. It could be worse".

I'm thankful for the wonderful person you are, Dylan. Please know that I love you just the way you are. I will always be your biggest supporter and your loudest cheerleader. I'm so thankful you're my son.

I love you, my sweet boy,

Mom

bottom of page