top of page

Week 48: My Tradition

We have a lot of holiday traditions, but taking a photo of a Christmas tradition would have required us to have gotten to the point of taking a day to get all the Christmas stuff down from the attic. Ummm... nope. Not a single decoration is out. In our neighborhood we are always one of the last to the outside decorations party. The "Crazy Christmas guy" on our street started getting his stuff ready at the beginning of November!

I used to be a preschool teacher and I used to collect children's books, so to say we have a few Christmas books would be an understatement. One year I saw this great idea (probably on Pinterest) to get 25 holiday themed books, and wrap them after Thanksgiving. Then, in December you let your child unwrap one book a night, leading up to Christmas, and read it together. What a glorious idea! In theory... as is the way with most Pinterest ideas. After that first year, I never could get my act together enough to accomplish thinking that far ahead and making the time to wrap 25 books.

Ever since that year, I DO keep all the holiday themed books together in one place and I DO get them out (usually in haphazard piles all over his room), and we do read a lot of them. One that we do "read" every year is a board book with the lyrics to the song "Silent Night". When you open it, it plays the song, and a light shines around baby Jesus. I love it and I plan to read it to my grandkids someday. Who knows? Maybe I'll even wrap 25 books for them the day after Thanksgiving.

bottom of page