top of page

Week 51: ME & The Holidays: ME Looking Forward

For me, Christmas break and the holidays mean lots of quality time with my 10 year old. Let's face it, when he's in school, the time I spend with him isn't always the best "quality". There's rushing, complaining, and grumpiness in the mornings. After school, there's rushing through homework, nagging, complaining, dinner prep and clean up, etc. This year I really wanted to focus on making moments and on being in the moment, and I think I've done that for the most part. That is something I want to continue to do in 2017, not just with my son, but with all my relationships. I want to make time to make memories.

So often, I am disappointed with my images because they seem "ordinary". I really want to try and let go of that feeling in 2017, as much as I can. Yes, there are many different images I could have captured this week as this year of the project comes to a close... prettier images, grander images, more awe worthy images... and really some of the ones I took are "prettier" than this one. But you know what? This one captures us... having a moment. Sharing some conversation over mugs of hot chocolate, a current obsession of both of ours, me being my goofy self in my messy kitchen. It's my life and what could be better to capture than that?

Happy Holidays, everyone! Hope you make lots of good memories.

bottom of page